“Victory loops” in the EFL

Given how open Leagues 1 and 2 have been this season I thought I’d try repeating last year’s exercise to see if you can make a complete 24-club closed loop where Team A beat Team B, who beat Team C … and so on, culminating with the 24th team having beaten Team A to “close the circle”.

I wrote some incredibly lazy code last year which uses brute force to randomly jump from result to result looking for these loops, so it was easy enough to chuck this season’s matches into it and let it chug away in the background.

It turns out that you can already form complete loops of wins for all three EFL divisions, although it can’t be done for the Premier League yet.


Every team in the graphic below has been beaten by the one immediately clockwise of it this season. For example, starting in the top left, Cardiff lost 3-2 to Norwich, who in turn lost 1-0 to Preston, who lost 1-0 to Ipswich and so on:


League 1


League 2

l2-result-chain-2016-12-02There are actually quite a few ways in which you can string all 24 clubs together in this way based on this season’s results so far; these graphics just show the first ones that the code identified for each division.